Age of Jahiliyah

A blog of wide and varied interest, including Islam, Muslims, Poetry, Art and much more.

DEATH IS A DOOR By Nancy Byrd Turner

Death is only an old door
Set in a garden wall;
On gentle hinges, it gives, at dusk
When the thrushes call.
Along the lintel are green leaves
Beyond the light lies still;
Very willing and weary feet
Go over that sill.
There is nothing to trouble any heart;
Nothing to hurt at all.
Death is only a quiet door
in an old wall.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “DEATH IS A DOOR By Nancy Byrd Turner

  1. Dr. Richard Morgan on said:

    A beautiful poem. I would love to quote it in a book I am writing for Upper Room Books, The Last Third of Life. Can you direct me to the source from whom I need to get permission.
    Richard Morgan

    Like

    • Sorry Richard, I can’t help you there. It was from a book collection of poems that I read many years ago (I think it was an old book), but I don’t remember the title now. I loved the poem on the spot, which is why I typed it out for my own personal use and later posted it here on my blog. Wish you the best of luck with your book – it sounds very interesting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

