Age of Jahiliyah

A blog of wide and varied interest, including Islam, Muslims, Poetry, Art and much more.

What I Know by Christian Wiman

These fields go father than you think they do.

That darkness is my father walking away.

It is my shadow that I tell this to.

This stillness is not real. The cloud that grew

Into an old man’s face didn’t stay.

These fields go farther than you think they do.

The sun loves shattered things, and loves what’s new.

I love you so much more than I can say.

It is my shadow that I tell this to.

He is not sleeping, that bird the bugs crawl through.

Don’t touch. Don’t cy. Think good things. Pray.

These fields go farther than you think they do.

Some darknesses breathe, look back at you.

Under the porch a pair of eyes waits all day.

It is my shadow that I tell this to.

The things my father told me must be true:

There are some places that you cannot play.

These fields go farther than you think they do.

It is my shadow that I tell this to.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

