Age of Jahiliyah

A blog of wide and varied interest, including Islam, Muslims, Poetry, Art and much more.

Narcissus and Echo by Fred Chappell

Shall the water not remember  Ember

my hand’s slow gesture, tracing above  of

its mirror my half-imaginary   airy

portrait? My only belonging  longing;

is my beauty, which I take  ache

away and then return, as love  of

teasing playfully the one being  unbeing.

whose gratitude I treasure Is  your

moves me. I live apart  heart

from myself, yet cannot  not

live apart. In the water’s tone,  stone?

that brilliant silence, a flower  Hour,

whispers my name with such slight   light:

moment, it seems filament of air,  fare

the world becomes cloudswell.  well.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

